Australia Post issues Lighthouses of Sydney stamps


Latest Posts
25 October 2018
Australia Post has issued a set of three stamps showing different lighthouses in Sydney, 200 years after the construction of Australia’s first lighthouse, the Macquarie Lighthouse of 1818.

The three domestic base-rate stamps were designed by Jo Muré of the Australia Post Design Studio and feature: 

$1 Hornby Lighthouse, Inner South Head, NSW 

Hornby Lighthouse, with its impressive red and white stripes, was constructed in 1858, following two shipwrecks at The Heads in 1857. The stamp photograph is by Bruce Hood. 

$1 Macquarie Lighthouse, Outer South Head, NSW 

The Macquarie Lighthouse of 1883 was built to replace the original tower of 1818, which had disintegrated due to the poor quality of sandstone used in its construction. Prior to 1818, sea-travellers’ only guiding light was a fire on a tripod at South Head, Sydney. The stamp photograph is by Matthew Kelly. 

Content continues after advertisements

$1 Robertsons Point Lighthouse, Cremorne Point, NSW 

Roberstons Point Lighthouse sits in the shores of Sydney Harbour. Constructed in 1910, the tower is an early example of the use of reinforced concrete in Australian lighthouse construction. The stamp photograph is by Ryan Payne. 

Australia Post Philatelic Manager, Michael Zsolt said: 

'Macquarie, Hornby and Robertsons Point lighthouses, which were constructed between the mid-19th and early-20th centuries, still play an important role in ensuring that vessels travel safely through the major waterways of Sydney. Historic lighthouses remind us of the dangers of early sea travel, and help chart important technological and navigational developments.'

The products available with the stamp issue include a first day cover, stamp pack, maxicards, booklet of ten, prestige booklet, postal numismatic cover and medallion cover.