Ozzie comedians raise a smile on stamps


Latest Posts
20 April 2020
Four Australian comedians are honoured in this year’s Australia Post Legends Awards, to celebrate their significant contribution to Australian comedy.

The funny folk featured on the new set of $1.10 stamps are Magda Szubanski AO, Garry McDonald AO, Adam Hills and Noeline Brown OAM.

Australia Post Executive General Manager Community & Consumer, Nicole Sheffield, said:

‘This year’s beloved recipients have entertained and delighted us for decades, not only with their side-splitting performances but also through the characters and programs they have created. I recall many of the shows with such fondness and, given the current climate, plan to introduce them to my children soon so I can enjoy a good laugh again. These performers hold a very special place in the hearts of many Australians, and we’re excited to celebrate their achievements with this new stamp release.’

Now in its 24th year, the Australia Post Legends Award celebrates living Australians who have made a unique contribution to the nation through their field of endeavour, inspiring the community, and influencing the way Australians think about themselves.

Customarily the Legends are honoured at an awards ceremony, however, due to Government and health authorities’ recommendations around events and gatherings, Australia Post will present the awards later in the year.

Content continues after advertisements

Past recipients include Sir Donald Bradman, Dame Joan Sutherland, Barry Humphries, Sir Gustav Nossal, Dame Elisabeth Murdoch, Cate Blanchett, Stephanie Alexander, Rod Laver and Bert Newton.

Subscribe to Stamp Collector magazine today and receive your first 3 issues for FREE!
Stay home, SAVE money and keep collecting with our monthly magazine delivered direct to your door! Click here to claim this offer.