USA stamps celebrate Sesame Street 50th anniversary


11 June 2019
The US Postal Service has issued a set of sixteen new stamps to honour Sesame Street, the influential children’s television show which was first broadcast fifty years ago

Arranged in horizontal rows, the stamps showcase sixteen of the Muppets characters that appear on Sesame Street, namely:

  • Big Bird
  • Ernie
  • Bert
  • Cookie Monster
  • Rosita
  • The Count
  • Oscar the Grouch
  • Abby Cadabby
  • Herry Monster
  • Julia
  • Guy Smiley
  • Snuffleupagus
  • Elmo
  • Telly
  • Grover
  • Zoe

Images of nine of the characters appear on the right side of the pane underneath the iconic Sesame Street sign. The back of the pane displays the Sesame Street fiftieth anniversary artwork.

The first episode of Sesame Street aired on 10 November 1969. Human characters, often children themselves, interacted with the Muppets of Sesame Street.

Content continues after advertisements

It's not the first time the TV show has been philatelically honoured; Big Bird from Sesame Street previously appeared on a USA stamp in 1999.