Australia Post honours eminent Indigenous Australians


Latest Posts
04 August 2013
imports_CCGB_stamp-53-_50500.jpg Australia Post honours eminent Indigenous Australians
Australia Post has issued five stamps which honour the achievements of indigenous Australians. ...
Australia Post has issued five stamps which honour the achievements of indigenous Australians. The five domestic base-rate (60c) stamps feature:

  • Shirley Smith AM
  • Neville Bonner AO
  • Oodgeroo Noonuccal
  • Eddie Koiki Mabo
  • Charles Perkins AO

Each of the people featured has played a part in campaigning for the rights of indigenous people in Australia. Australia Post Managing Director and CEO Ahmed Fahour said: 'We trust this stamp issue will remind all Australians of the significant contribution made by these important Indigenous Australians.'

Shirley Smith AM (1921-98), also known as "Mum Shirl", was born on Erambie Mission, Cowra, New South Wales. She was a member of the Wiradjuri nation and was a committed activist for the justice and welfare of Aboriginal Australians.

Neville Bonner AO (1922-99) was born on Ukerebagh Island on the Tweed River, New South Wales. In 1971 he became the first Aboriginal person to sit in the Commonwealth of Australia parliament. He also became the first Indigenous Australian to be elected to the parliament by popular vote.

Oodgeroo Noonuccal (Kath Walker) (1920-93) was a descendant of the Noonuccal people of Minjerribah, North Stradbroke Island, Queensland. Oodgeroo was a poet, political activist, artist, educator and environmentalist.

Eddie "Koiki" Mabo (1936-92) was born in the Meriam community of Las on Mer, known as Murray Island, in the Torres Strait, Queensland. In 1982 Eddie challenged land ownership laws in the High Court of Australia and won. The notion of terra nullius (land belonging to no one) was expelled from Australian law paving the way for the Native Title Act 1993 (Cwlth).

Charles Perkins AO (1936-2000) was born at the Alice Springs Telegraph Station Aboriginal Reserve in the Northern Territory. His parents were Arrernte and Kalkadoon people. In 1965 Perkins led the Freedom Rides, exposing racial discrimination throughout country NSW. From 1984 until 1988 he was Secretary of the Department of Aboriginal Affairs, the first Aboriginal Australian to attain such a position in the bureaucracy.

The stamps were designed by Lynette Traynor of the Australian Post design studio, and the issue also includes a first day cover, stamp pack, set of maxicards and a prestige booklet.

To buy the stamps, visit the Australia Post website.

For all the latest stamp and coin news and new issues, see each issue of Stamp & Coin Mart magazine.
Content continues after advertisements